Gulls Nest - Quahog Bay Inn - 9905 660x269

“Completely Amazed ”

Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This was the second time that we have stayed at the Quahog Bay Inn , our first stay was in a one bedroom suite and we were amazed the suite was very large.
We’ll our second stay was in a two bedroom suite and it was enormous, I almost lost my wife in suite, that’s how spacious our suite was.
If you’re planning on a Maine Mid Coast stay do yourself a favor and check out the Quahog Bay Inn simply wonderful.

Stayed October 2014, traveled with family

 

“GREAT place…cooked lobster delivered to your door! Need we say more!”

Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This was our first visit to the Quahog Bay Inn. It is a great location … close to Brunswick and along the coast of Maine (on a bay), but not too far away from other cities and attractions. The rooms are huge. My husband said it would the perfect size place to retire to! If only :) We were in the Dockside room and it was great. Had cooked lobsters delivered right to our door our first night there. What a great deal! We would go back here in a heartbeat! Since we try to get to Maine every year, we now have a new place to look forward to. Next year we want to rent a canoe and take advantage of the waterfront. If you are looking for something near the water, with a good cup of coffee and muffins for a light breakfast (other items available, but that’s all we needed) and the opportunity to veg out or go canoeing or kayaking or in warmer weather, swimming off the dock, this is an ideal place to visit!

Room Tip: All rooms have a great view of the water. We were in Dockside and it was fine. I am sure the other…

See more room tips

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple

Gulls Nest - Quahog Bay Inn - 9905 660x269

“”What Everyone Wants””

Reviewed August 29, 2014

My wife and I stayed from the 19 of August until the 22 nd of August.

From the moment we opened the door the size of our suite was emence. .and then you see the huge windows and there it is the beautiful Bay… and oh my gosh we have a private Deck.
After looking around the suite and taking it all in , it just kept getting better and better.
If your going to stay any were in Harpswell do yourself a favor and check out “Quahog Bay Inn”.

Simply great! !!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family

 

“Simply Outstanding!”

Reviewed August 19, 2014

We were in search of a quiet, quaint inn that had the true charm of Maine. We found it here! Located on a lobster dock, we had fresh lobsters cooked on the dock then delivered to our room. the sunrises were breathtaking and the room was very clean and well outfitted. The Inn keepers were pleasant and very helpful with local directions and suggestions. Close to what you need, far from what you don’t. We highly recommend a stay with Jane and her crew!

Room Tip: You can’t pick a bad room.

Gulls Nest - Quahog Bay Inn - 9905 660x269

 

“wonderful even with the rain”

Reviewed July 11, 2014

Beautiful views, spacious and comfortable. The cottage has its own float, lovely wraparound deck. Even with a few glitches, we had a great time thanks to very attentive innkeepers; the water heater broke, and the innkeeper had it replaced within a few hours (on a Sunday!). Hot blueberry muffins in the mornings, lobsters steamed and brought to our door in the afternoon. Brought our own kayak, but there are plenty to rent; the harbor is an easy and beautiful place to paddle. Glad we were staying for several days, as it poured for the first two days. Lobster still tastes fine in the rain, and the lobstermen still are in and out of the harbor, so plenty to watch. Close to many good restaurants and beaches from Bailey Island to Brunswick. An easy drive if you fly into Portland. A convenient place if you want to explore lots of pkaces, an even nicer place if you really want to enjoy doing nothing. We plan to come back.

Room Tip: great views from all rooms but the upper floors have the best views; all have kitchens, spacious be…

 

“A little bit of heaven”

Reviewed July 1, 2014

Stayed for a long weekend and so wish we could have stayed longer. Very friendly and relaxing place to stay. Apartment we had (Dockside) was spacious and had great views. Could rent boats from the owners and get fresh lobsters delivered to us in the evening. Wonderful!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple

 

Gulls Nest - Quahog Bay Inn - 9905 660x269

 

5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Our 2013 vacation in Maine, included several lovely coastal areas. Quahog Bay Inn was our final destination. We were excited to be able to book a four day stay in this beautiful area. The inn is right beside the lovely Quahog Bay. I’m certain that summer is likely a more popular time for the area, although it appeared to be booked during our stay in Oct. as well. What you get with Quahog Bay Inn, is basically a huge apartment, privacy, and a lovely view. The apartment was well appointed with a large living, dining area and surrounded with nice big windows that opened out, revealing expansive views of the bay. The open concept kitchen was stocked with anything one might need for meal preparation. The bedroom was simple, comfortable and the bed linens were the finest I had encountered during my entire trip. The bath was a nice size, simply decorated and very inviting. The apartment itself, (The Dockside) was immaculately clean. Harpswell is fairly remote, but since we were there mostly to sight see, it afforded us several day trips out to see the surrounding area, which included some breathtaking views. Since the dock at Quahog Bay is home to a local lobster company, we were able to order lobster right there at the inn, and have it steamed and delivered directly to us. It was the least I have ever paid for lobster and it was completely delicious! The owner/manager, Jane Waddle was as nice as could be. This place is wonderful for a quietly beautiful romantic getaway, but I’m sure that in season, there are things there to enjoy for the entire family. I so enjoyed the evenings on our front deck, overlooking the bay, and the quietly beautiful nights here. From the internet service, to the coffee maker, everything worked perfectly. Quahog Bay Inn is definitely a home away from home in paradise.

Room Tip: We chose The Dockside, overlooking the bay, very quiet, with a lovely view. I’m sure all the roo…

 

Gulls Nest - Quahog Bay Inn - 9905 660x269

 

“Fantastic, clean, great place to stay and kayak, friendly people!”

…… it’s just wonderful. We came up to kayak in the Harpswell area and we were so pleased with our accommodations, we stayed in the Osprey (1) apartment, 2 bedroom/1 bath, it was just perfect. Clean, bright, maid service and fresh lobster delivered to your door! Can’t beat that… they let us keep our kayaks on their dock, so we were set. We plan on returning to Maine next year and we will absolutely stay at the quahog bay inn again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple

“Clean, spacious, views”

Immaculately clean, spacious apartment with great views. Private getaway by boat dock, but near Orr’s and Bailey island attractions. Helpful hosts, great homemade muffins for included continental breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends

Great Island - Quahog Bay Inn - 3426 660x263

“Pleasantly Surprised”

Reviewed September 22, 2013

Our family loves Harpswell , Baily and Orrs Island. We have rented three and four bedroom cottages for the past three summers. I wanted to take my husband back for a long weekend for his birthday. I was familiar with the location of Quahog Bay Inn and took a chance and booked our weekend “sight unseen”.
We were very impressed and had a very relaxing weekend. We rented the Gulls Nest unit. It was EXTREMELY clean, nicely decorated and very roomy. It was the size of a nice condo.
Jane is a delightful hostess. She is very helpful with any information you may need and we looked forward to the yummy morning pastrys she offered for breakfast. Our first night we ate in and had steamed lobsters brought to our room.
The Quahog Bay Inn is centrally located. We were a short trip from Popham Beach and ended our day with dinner at our favorite restaurant , The Dolphin Marina. We purchased lobsters from Jane and her husband for our trip home. They were packaged perfectly .
We are planning on making this our annual birthday celebration destination.

“Location, Comfort and Friendly People!!!”

Reviewed September 16, 2013

I travel a lot. I mean a real lot. It’s my passion so whenever I can, I get in the car (or plane, train or bus) and go. In doing so, I have stayed a ton of places-and across all the spectrum from crashing on friends couches to staying in 5-star hotels and resorts. Quahog Bay Inn is one of those rare places that is really worth a little bit of a splurge because the property is so well located (assuming you love Maine) and so well cared for. Honestly, it really pained me to leave here. Like others have mentioned-I could just sit and watch the lobster men come and go all day…unfortunately we only had 2 days here and had some lighthouses to see and a few errands to run as we entertained some friends on the second night we were here so I will have to come back with plans to sit a little more…and just relax and take it all in.

We stayed in Osprey #2 which had 2 really nice bedrooms (one overlooking the bay), a nice living room a full kitchen and dinning room. It had cable, fans, pots and pans and service for 4. There were a lot of maps and books to borrow. Plenty of brochures at hand so you could plan the following day over your dinner. The bathroom was very nice and the shower/bath was heavenly.

The island is great and there is much to eat, see and do in the area. If I wasn’t such a roamer I should have stayed here for an entire week. If I was making a recommendation for someone planning a trip to Maine, I would suggest at least 3 nights here and 3 nights in/near Acadia and maybe a few more in Belfast/Rockland/Camden area. If time allows maybe 2 nights up on the Bold coast. For those that just want to relax and not drive that far up the coast you could just stay here. I have seen nearly every part of the Maine coast and this area is as pretty and relaxing as any of it…

Oh yeah, don’t miss the deluxe continental breakfast, the muffins were fantastic and the coffee perfect!!! There are breads, bagels, english muffins, cereal, yogurt and juices as well.

Tip: Come in the off season if you can. May-June, Sept-Oct would be my recommendation.

Room Tip: We loved Osprey 2 (2nd floor) but all the rooms here look amazing.

Osprey 1 - Quahog Bay Inn - 8632 660x282

“Fun place…. great folks”

Reviewed August 29, 2013

We were only there for (3) nights again which isn’t really enough. The place is comfy and clean, the folks taking care of us very friendly.

We were in Gulls Nest on the ground floor last year, which was very nice, but we sprang the extra $$ for Crows Nest on top floor this year and it was worth every nickle. If you’re like me at all, and can relax for hours, watching the lobster boats and the birds do their thing, this is a perfect spot with a good long view.

The bay was nice and calm for canoeing so we rented one for 1/2 day. We were thinking about the tides (maybe 10′ tide there) but the wind is probably more to deal with. We lucked out and had little breeze.

The breakfast offerings, including fresh baked blueberry muffins, are yummy and are all you need to hold you over until lobster roll time. We always brought ours back to our deck rather than eat in the cozy dining area… nothing against the dining area but our deck was just too good.

It’s an easy drive to anywhere else in Harpswell from QBI, and just 15-ish minutes to go to Brunswick if you need anything the smaller stores don’t have.

Then there’s the lobsters cooked at the dock for you. Done right and delivered or you can go fetch ‘em. In addition to what we ate there, we ordered up a bunch to pick and bring home for lobster rolls.

So, go visit. If you don’t enjoy it…well, I can’t help you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple

“The apartments are huge and immaculate.”

Reviewed August 25, 2013

We spent 5 nights here with other family members whilst over for my son’s wedding on Bailey Island. The apartments are huge and immaculate. It is so peaceful just the occasional lobster boat and the lobsters were amazing ! Jane and her family were very helpful. We took out canoes went running and just enjoyed being there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family

Osprey 2 - Quahog Bay Inn - 9827 666x337

“What a great place run by a very nice family.”

Reviewed August 7, 2013

What a great place run by a very nice family.
The unit was really a small apartments with great views of the ocean and peaceful Maine woods. The unit was modern and very comfortable with a nice deck and no bugs. Not sure where they were hiding but not even a mosquito did we see. The bedding was 1st class and very comfortable as was the living room furniture.
Most of the guests we met were repeaters and those that were there for the first time agreed that this was a place to return to.
We took advantage of their working lobster pound on the grounds and ordered steamed lobsters which were delivered to our unit on time for a lovely dinner in our own space.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple

“We rented a boat right from their dock for a half day- better than expected!”

Reviewed July 22, 2013

My husband and I (and our 9 month old daughter) recently visited the Inn with my in-laws for their 45th anniversary. We booked two one bedroom suites (Gull’s Nest and Crow’s Nest). Both were immaculate! Brand new rugs, decks had just been rebuilt and I couldn’t get over how clean it was. The bathrooms were modern, with hotel-like amenities and touches. We rented a boat right from their dock for a half day, swam off the swim ladder right on property and even had lobsters and a pot delivered to our room. (They will cook for you until 5pm but we chose to cook ourselves as we wanted to eat later). We brought breakfast fixing to cook, but the continental breakfast was quite nice, warm blueberry muffins, fruit, yogurt, etc. It’s a family owned place and they take pride in their relatively new business (only 4 years ago they started this). The units used to be apartments and are huge! I was concerned as I saw limited reviewed, but was not disappointed! We had gorgeous sunsets and sunrises from our waterfront deck and I would absolutely go back. Felt like real Maine too!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family

Crows Nest - Quahog Bay Inn - 9869 660x269

“Great Location, Very Nice Accommodations and Oh, Those Lobsters!”

Reviewed July 11, 2013

Super friendly family/staff provides clean, spacious suites all with water-view decks to relax on. Order your lobsters during the day, let them know what time you would like them (last cooking call is at 5:00pm) and they will get them to your room all piping hot. Make sure you bring along any sides or drinks you want. Each room has a full kitchen with refrigerator and microwave. There was a heat wave while we were there and although there is no AC, they do have fans. We were out every day and by evening the fans blew in cool enough air to sleep comfortably. Nice breakfasts are provided with homemade muffins, cookies, or other breakfast cakes and breads. We had a great time and would return when the Maine bug bites us again. Pillows could have been more plump.

“Beautiful and Yummy!”

Reviewed July 8, 2013

I had never been to Maine, but this is what I always imagined it would be like. The accommodations were fine, but it is really about your surroundings and the wonderful staff. The lobster was amazing. You put your order in at anytime during the day and let them know when you want them brought to your porch. We rented Kayaks for the day and jumped around to different islands. If you are into camping bring some gear and check out a site to camp for the night on a secluded island. Wish we would have known about this before coming. Beautiful small town place, perfect for relaxing and enjoying your company.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family

Dockside - Quahog Bay Inn - 8785 667x268

“Excellent Accomodations”

Reviewed June 13, 2013

My friend and I stayed 2 nights at this inn and although the weather was cool and rainy we had a wonderful time. We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite which is like a little cottage. Each of the bedrooms were large and had comfortable beds and we had one bath. There is a small kitchen which we didn’t really use. There is also a living room/dining room so you have plenty of space plus you get a deck overlooking the water. For breakfast we had delicious muffins plus there is fruit, cereal, toast, etc. We had dinner-steamed lobsters- sent to the room each night. What a treat! If you don’t want to hear the boats going out in the morning turn on your fan.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a great view and it just depends on what size space you want.

 

“Spring trip in search of Lobster”

Reviewed May 20, 2013

Saturday morning the sun was peeking out and we decided to search out a new coastal town. Spoke with Jane and she had availability. Arrived md afternoon and we were greeted by a wave and a smile by Marcie. She was awaiting her guest. She was very informative and was ready to help in any way possible. I was in search of lobster and by the looks of the bay lobster was their life. Fishing boats and a huge cooler that said Quahog Lobster and Crab Company. Marcie took to hand pick our lobster down on the docks. Gave a lobster pan and we settled in for a quiet evening overlooking the fishing village. Breakfast was fresh baked blueberry muffins a nice assortment of cereals and toasting breads. We will return!

Room Tip: We toured many of the suites and stayed in the Gulls Nest or #2. All rooms have views of the bay…

Gulls Nest - Quahog Bay Inn - 9905 660x269

“excellent vacation”

Reviewed May 12, 2013

If you are looking for a restful beautiful place to vacation this is the place to be, Homemade muffins every morning. great and friendly owner, Lobsters cannot be fresher, If you are not satisfied here, then save your money and stay home you won’t be happy anywhere

Room Tip: Any room is great the views may be better from the upper floors

 

“This place is the BEST!”

Reviewed May 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed five nights at Quahog Bay Inn and it is definitely the best place to stay. I compared it to some other places and every time, there was no doubt that we had chosen the right place. The accommodations and views were amazing! Jane, the owner, was very gracious and helpful. There was not a negative thing about our stay. From the moment you step out of your car and inhale the air and see the beautiful water, you know why the sign entering Maine states, “The Way Life Should Be.” The apartment was very clean and spacious. We really enjoyed the private deck for sunrises and sunsets. Also, having fresh lobsters and crabs delivered to our room was an added bonus! We cannot wait to go back again!

Quahog Bay Inn lobsters 660x330

“Can’t Wait to Return to the Quahog Bay Inn”

Reviewed March 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Quahog Bay Inn last May for our anniversary. We only stayed one night, but it was so wonderful, we are going back again this year. We stayed in the Crow’s Nest, and it was just beautiful. The views were lovely, and the suite was more like an apartment than a typical hotel room. I have yet to stay in a cleaner place! You can tell that the owners take great pride in their establishment. We had lobster for dinner that night in our suite. It was cooked right on the premises and delivered hot. If you are looking for a relaxing getaway, this is the place!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple

“Perfect location, homey accommodations”

Reviewed October 16, 2012

The Quahog Bay Inn is located right on the water in Harpswell. The inlet has lobster boats, a dock, picnic tables, and kayaks and boats for guests’ use. During our trip (mid-October), we stayed in the Gull’s Nest Suite, and it was absolutely perfect. More like an apartment, the Gull’s Nest has a full kitchen, living room, dining area, bedroom and bath, plus a deck off the back overlooking the water. In the morning, breakfast is served in the open kitchen in the Inn’s check-in office.

All in all, our stay was spectacular. The Inn is family-run, and the cozy feel of the rooms, as well as the property, make you feel as though you are right at home. The area, though quiet at night, is incredibly beautiful and quintessentially “Maine.”

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple

Kayaks - Quahog Bay Inn - 8512 660x266

“a great place to get away”

Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed here for two nights, in Crow’s Nest. Our living room and dining room overlooked the bay, complete with lobster boats docked in front of the Inn. It was a full apartment that felt very private, even though it was right above another suite. It had all the amenities- a full kitchen, a comfortable living room perfect for lounging, and a very comfortable bed. The bathroom was also top notch, stocked with plenty of tolietries. The best feature of the suite was the large, very private balcony. It overlooked the water, and it offered a place to get a clear view of the Maine skies at night. The whole suite was truly peaceful- most of the time. The only issue we had during our stay was that one of the lobster boats started its engine around 6am and it kept on running at the dock for hours. I’m a pretty light sleeper, so it was hard for me to sleep. But that was no fault of the hotel- maybe just keep a pair of ear plugs handy. Also, do be sure to bring snacks and such, as there aren’t really many shops around, especially that are open in the evening.
For a trip to the Eastern coast of Maine, this Inn’s location is perfect; close to Portland and the Portland JetPort, and also Boothbay Harbor and Bath- both excellent cities. For a taste of real Maine, book a trip at the Quahog Bay Inn.

“beyond expectations”

Reviewed September 1, 2012

This inn was better than their photos which were great. If you want to go back to what Maine was before tourism hit ,this is the place to stay. Quiet, restful and unspoiled with lots to see and do. The owners are delightful, friendly and helpful. Jane or Hallie made fresh muffins and cookies every morning. I was ready to stay until the snow started. The in is on the rocks at the edge of the bay with 2 working lobster docks. I am almost afraid to let any one know about this gem for fear that they will be full the next time we go back. I am eagerly looking forward to going for 1-2 weeks next year. A real treasure.

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful with balconies….

Kayaks - Quahog Bay Inn - 8898 660x269

 

“The real Maine”

Reviewed August 18, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at Quahog Bay Inn for 7 nights. We did not want to leave and we cannot wait to return next year.

Jane is an exceptional innkeeper and a wonderful person and the staff, Hallie and Mike were fantastic too. Our suite, The Gulls Nest, was a home away from; clean, spacious and comfortable. We loved the instant availabilty of the wonderful fresh lobster. The inn is a very convenient base to the Harpswell/Brunswick area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple

“Best location, deal and, stay on the Maine Coast!”

Reviewed August 12, 2012

Second visit and many more to follow! Staying at Quahog Bay Inn is like staying in your own home , with 5 star accommodations on the water! The Dock Side is bigger than most Atlanta apartments. The owners are very helpful and always available to you. Kayaks and Paddle boards on site made for loads of fun, even at my age, 57. Morning jogs and bike rides easily begin ay Quahog Bay Inn.
Quahog Bay Inn is a great location for exploring the Maine coast during the day and return for a fresh off the boat lobster dinner on your deck! We saved $100.00 a day from restaurants meals/drinks and had the freshest steamed lobster, local wine, and delivered to our deck by the owner!
Just about an hour ride to Cape Elizabeth – I still made it to the Beach to Beacon 10k run. Then came back and cooled off kayaking.
Breakfast is as good as most Bed and Breakfasts. Get up early and catch the cook baking blueberry muffins and other specialties.
Price- Exceptional value. I look forward to booking in the fall for the following July/August.
Cons- Everyone wants to know what to look out for- Okay, My wife made me take her to Freeport, 30 minutes away for outlet shopping. Couldn’t dodge that but made the best of it and dragged her through LL Bean!
Hope to see you at Quahog Bay Inn first week of August 2013!
Glenn

Room Tip: Dock Side is the closest to Breakfast! We enjoy first floor

Milky Way - Quahog Bay Inn - 9965 660x330

“Quintessential Maine”

Reviewed July 25, 2012

We highly recommend the Crow’s Nest 1 bedroom suite on the 3rd floor which was spacious, comfortable, well appointed and had spectacular views from the living room and private deck. Soothing sounds of the birds and water, ocean breezes through the many large windows. Helpful, friendly staff. Decent continental breakfast. Nicely located in Harpswell area for rides to area restaurants and sightseeing along the penisulas. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family

“Great place to stay!!”

Reviewed July 21, 2012

This was our second visit and we have enjoyed each stay!! The rooms are immaculate, the view is great and the owners are so sweet.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family

Quahog Bay - Quahog Bay Inn - 0700 660x268

“Terrific bayside Inn”

Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed in the “Dock Side” room, which included a large living area, fully stocked kitchen, bathroom and bedroom. It also had a lovely deck overlooking the bay. The room was very clean and well-equipped. The owners are lovely and gave us lots of good things to do during our stay. The included breakfast was bountiful and delicious. We took out a speedboat for a day; it was a spectacular day and we had lots of fun tooling around in the bays and inlets, under bridges, looking at the birds and looking for seals (which were nowhere to be found). Everywhere we went in Harpswell the people were friendly and helpful – this is definitely and area we’d come back to. And when we do we’ll stay at the Quahog Bay Inn!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple

“This is a wonderful place!”

Reviewed July 14, 2012

We returned for the second year to Quahog Bay Inn, and we are already looking forward to next summer for another visit. The rooms are lovely, with sunset views from each deck. Innkeeper Jane’s extra touches in decor and comfort are excellent. And fresh steamed lobster can be delivered to your room for dinner after a good day exploring near-by beaches! Breakfast is delightful, too.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple

Quahog-Bay-Inn- continental breakfast 664x234

“Worth the trip”

Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

Hubby and I especially enjoyed our 2 1/2 days at this Inn. We slept in quiet peace, woke up to sounds of the dock, kayaked around the bay twice, biked a little, and ate A LOT of fresh steamed to order lobsters from Quahog Lobster literally yards from our Dock Side room. Location close to Bailey Island, Brunswick and Freeport. We hope to return in future. Lovely fun times.

  • Stayed July 2012

“The Perfect Location To Experience Nature and City!”

Reviewed June 25, 2012

Fresh Lobster on your deck over looking water, hiking, and picturesque views- YES, YES, YES! Oh and a relatively big city close by, in case it gets too quite- YES!

I did a lot of research before landing on the Quahog Bay Inn. If you are looking for a relaxing vacation in Maine, but still want to be relatively close to Portland—this is it.

My Fiancé and I were the first to get engaged at the Quahog Bay Inn and it was so perfect! Jane and her family made us feel like we were celebrating this momentous occasion with family. My Fiancé was able to arrange champagne and flowers to be set in our room when we got back from our beautiful hike at the Giant Stairs. It was so easy and very special.

Overall, the room was very clean (The inn is only three years old and family run), charming, and provided an amazing view of the water. The location of the inn is perfect for a bit of quietness and an assortment of activities. We visited several good hikes in the local area and it was only about 30 minutes from Portland where were able to go for a special dinner.

I would definitely recommend you stay here. We will be back as soon as possible!

Room Tip: The Osprey 2 suite gets the perfect amount of sun on the deck and is a beautiful two-bedroom room.

Seals 664x267

“Beautiful waterfront get away”

Reviewed June 13, 2012

My husband and I spent the weekend at this lovely Inn and were not disappointed. Every window in our suite had an ocean view. We enjoyed fresh lobster right off the boat for dinner. The large deck off the kitchen was perfect for our morning coffee and delicious homemade muffins that were provided by the inn keeper. Great place to sit back, relax, and enjoy the coast of Maine.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple

“Relaxing”

Reviewed November 7, 2011

When your through with the tourist stuff head to Quahog Bay Inn. There you can relax, enjoy and really experience the Maine coast. An added bonus is the hospitality of everyone at Quahog Bay Inn. Beautiful, clean over sized rooms. Kayaks on site for everyone to enjoy.
Generous breakfasts and conversations if you want it. Dinner was my favorite; hollering out the door to Brian to boil a half dozen lobsters and drop them off on my porch- all in less than 30 minutes!
Can’t go wrong,,, unless you stay somewhere else!
Glenn

Room Tip: No bad rooms

See more room tips

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple

Quahog-Bay-Inn-Osprey-Bald-Eagle

“Let me save you some time.”

Reviewed September 12, 2011

Before booking my stay I did a ridiculous amount of research. I wanted to stay somewhere along the coast of Maine, preferably directly on the water, with charm, and at a fair price. I went to several websites only to be disappointed when i looked at their actual location with google maps / street view. This is by far your best option for staying in a coastal Maine town that is not over the top touristy. Staying here allows you to get a real Maine experience.
By the way you can buy cooked lobsters off the dock and eat them in your own kitchen or on your own private balcony!

Room Tip: worth the money for the crows nest.

See more room tips

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple

“Lovely, pristine space for four”

Reviewed August 22, 2011

We were pleasantly surprised with the space of the Osprey 1 suite. There was plenty of space for our family of four – kids being 17 an 12. The space was immaculate and inviting. The only thing I will say is be prepared to hear the lobster boats heading out at an early hour. It wasn’t loud at all but my husband is a light sleeper and it woke him up.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service

    Paddle Boarding- 667x357

“Beautiful scenery, friendly owners, and relaxing atmosphere”

Reviewed July 31, 2011 via mobile

We extended our stay for a third night because we just were not ready to leave! It was great to find someplace with a full kitchen and space to spread out that did not require a full week’s rental. Innkeeper Jane and her family made us feel at home and were so kind to our children. We rented their boat one day and enjoyed exploring the bay. The waterfront view from the porch, kitchen, living room and bedroom was magnificent! We enjoyed relaxing and watching Osprey and bald eagles flying among the trees. The inn is located by a lobster dock which was scenic and interesting to watch. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2011

“Secluded, quiet, clean retreat on the bay with great views, wonderful, personable owner/staff.”

Reviewed July 19, 2011 via mobile

If you are looking for a “out-of-the-way”, secluded and quiet property, on the water overlooking a small harbor, this is it. The rooms are clean. We had the “Osprey 2″, a 2 bedroom, 1 bath, kitchen, dining AND living room unit and LARGE deck. Simple, basic, clean, with great views of harbor from inside and out on the deck.

This is not a boutique inn, but as stated above, a nice, simple inn. I took my elderly parents whom enjoyed the serenity and beauty. Morning coffee/breakfast on the deck overlooking a quiet harbor was sublime, and beckoning to linger, to do nothing but soak in the beauty. Again, quiet is the keyword here.

The inn has kayaks for exploring the surrounding bays. This is also a good base for exploring the area by car. One drawback is that most restaurants are 15 – 20 minutes.

I look forward to a return visit in the future with my wife.

The Casco Bay noon sightseeing cruise from nearby Bailey Island is well worth the time.

  • Stayed July 2011

Quahog-Bay-Inn-0572 664x266

“An enchanting find”

Reviewed July 16, 2011

We recently stayed for 4 nights at the Quahog Inn on a long trip to Maine from the UK – and couldn’t have been more delighted with the whole place. We were in the Dockside apartment which has a charming little deck where you can sit out and watch the fishing boats coming and going on the Sound in front of you (as well as seals, cormorants and more). The Inn is off the beaten track (but easy to find) and so is quiet and completely unspoilt – making for an utterly relaxed and peaceful experience.

Our apartment was huge for the two of us, and really well-appointed with a very thoughtfully equipped kitchen. The bedroom’s large and comfortable and the sitting room is huge which is helpful if you do hit any bad weather. The whole apartment has huge picture windows too, meaning you have fantastic views out onto the picturesque Sound in every direction – incredibly beautiful. We found all the space was such a pleasure after staying in B&Bs for a week.

We were able to spread out and take it easy, the mornings drifting by happily reading and sunning ourselves on the deck. We found excellent walks and places to eat nearby and loved the whole of the Harpswell area – and Brunswick is a charming small town nearby to visit, too.

But what makes this wonderful place even more special are the people. Jane is the most delightful manager and makes delicious muffins or pastries every morning, spread out with coffees and teas, a really generous array. And she’s so helpful and pleasant in making sure you have everything you need, as well as advice on places to eat and visit locally. You really do arrive a stranger and leave a friend and talking with her – and the family – is a pleasure, not just a formality you go through.

In all this was a great find – and we only finally prised ourselves away by promising we’d return again sometime soon.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple

“Idyllic location”

Reviewed June 23, 2011

QBI 674x261

 

Be Sociable, Share!